Day I

#eleven11poetrychallenge2015

(A poem for someone in your life)

Dear you,
I thought we were bestfriends
when we walked hand in hand talking about
all the cool movies we got to watch over summer.
When you wouldn’t let my hand slip out of a habit
as you would share the spoilers on our favorite series.
When we would fight over each other wondering
what the name of the next in line would be.

I thought we were bestfriends
when you first told me about the girl from the other class
and I wondered why were you head over heels for her
when you told me about your first kiss
and your first fight
and you shed your first tears of love in front of me.

But I realized, I never fulfilled my part in our relationship
I never told you about my first crush
never about the first time I had held someone’s hand
the first time I thought someone was the one.

While you shared your heartbreak with me,
I never told you about the time I broke someone’s heart
while you shared your new found love,
I never told you about falling for the same guy all over again
While I always found out about your life from you
you always had to find it through someone else.

Maybe that’s why,
we are no more bestfriends
because while you’ve been sharing all your secrets with me,
mine has always been stuck in my stomach.

4 thoughts on “Day I

Leave a Reply

