Dashain is here – I

Sometimes I wonder why we’d always be so excited about Dashain. Probably it’s because of fifteen days of vacation with tons of homework to do or it was about getting rich even if it’s for a day. Because while the rest of Kathmandu would be flying kites, playing cards and having fun; during Dashain afternoon, I remember being tucked in bed with mom. All the time. Dashain, actually is very lethargic. On Astami and Nawami, everyone at home would be sleeping the moment breakfast of samyabaji followed by one round of tea and washing is done. Everyone would wake up only at around 2 or 3. Maybe it’s the afternoon nap that gets me excited about Dashain. That’s the only thing that makes sense to me now.

3 thoughts on “Dashain is here – I

  1. Pingback: Dashain is here - I

Leave a Reply

