An open letter to the New Yorker

Dear The New Yorker,

I had been waiting for this moment for a long time. Ever since I first learnt about your existence, searched for you on the web, read few articles and went like – Woah, I need to read more, found another article that promised to be interesting but it wasn’t accessible. And since then, I have come across hundreds of other articles  and stories that were inaccessible. But now that you guys have made those after 2007 accessible, my friends and I have been jumping with joy. But then we have a problem – we don’t know which article to read.

At least I am scared that the trial period (this summer/three months) will be long gone before I can finish even a dozen stories. Because there are so many of them. I always had this problem since I was a kid. I can’t decide which book to read when I go to a library or a book store. Most of the times, I come back empty-handed from a bookstore for I couldn’t choose one book over the other. I always get confused, excited, awestruck and overwhelmed at the same time when I am given choices – choices of thousands or even more things to read/do.

But this time, I am planning to kickback all the emotions and start reading stories. At least one per day. So that I can finish 90 stories in these three months. Many other websites like Buzzfeed and Slate have already published the must read fictions/stories while the open access is still there. I am planning to follow them through and read as much as possible.

I am not writing this open letter to share my reading plan with you guys. I am writing this to thank you for doing this. I am sure it means a lot to people like me who have limited access to magazines and newspapers from the West. Most of the times, all the stories that we get to read is through websites. Which of course do not provide us full access if we are not subscribers. Which further means we are left out. And then you guys made most of the articles (almost all since 2007) freely accessible and that kind of changed all the system.

This decision you guys made, showed how you really respect and love your readers while I also know the original idea behind this. I know that you want to go like Times (in case of website accessibility) but still giving at least a summer to go through your archives, falling in love with your stories and getting a chance to explore is a lot for me. It is a lot for others too. That’s why we all are excited and happy and nervous at the same time. That’s why I want to make use of this opportunity as much as possible. That’s why I am indeed very grateful to you.

So dear folks at The New Yorker, thank you for this chance. Now let me go and check the list so that I can read one more story before I go to sleep.

Love,

Suv

Leave a Reply

