Day 7

#eleven11poetrychallenge

(Sixteen)

He left the country for a better life,
I couldn’t spend the very last night
but she did.
She told everyone that it was stupid,
people crying when a person’s leaving
but she was the one who held on to him
when it was time for him to leave.

Last year of high school,
I kept on wondering where did my other year go?
What did I do?
Who did I miss?
The guy next class
or the guy that I locked eyes with
(or at least I thought I did)
every morning?

I find my new favourite singer
I meet my new favourite book but
both of them couldn’t make it to the future
While I always thought they would.
I guess this is what you get
This was my sixteen.

 

Leave a Reply

