She asks me questions
I do not know answers of
I do not want to know answers of
like if she’s going to die in next 6 months.
I too want to ask her questions
whose answers I don’t want to hear
and I’m sure she doesn’t want to give
like if she can feel the death passing her
is it too near that she could touch
or too far like a distant star.

But then I don’t want to talk about dying right now
even if it’s been my favourite subject since I was a kid
because I can’t even imagine being without her for a second
even when I reach eighty with grey hair and wrinkled skin
for I believe,
there are few things
you can never outgrow –
nightmares and mother’s love.

Leave a Reply

