I would rather

How do I start this article when I am not sure if this is what I want to do for life.
I would rather write stories, poems, spaces, silence, words, letters and symbols
I would rather listen to songs, poetry, art, notes, music, melody,
I would rather read hearts, people, love, emotions, places, details,
I would rather go on a journey, travel, get lost, wander and wonder
I would rather smile, shout, scream, laugh out loud, fall of the chair.
I would rather walk in the sun, rain, storm and cloud.
I would rather sleep, dream, eat, wait and let the world pass by.

Why can’t we just let the world pass by.
Why can’t we just sit in the window and watch people
Enjoy the weather,
Joke around with each other
And share the secrets with hushed voice.
Why do we need to write words we’re not sure we love,
Walk the path we don’t want to walk
Sign the checks,
Deposit the amount
Count the money.

I would rather write about you
About your dark hair
How I can’t breathe when I am with you
Buried deep in your arms
Thinking we’ve stopped the time,
Talking about the rituals & traditions
And that window near your house
And the missing flight
Debating about life,
Our favourite songs and favourite writers
Of the books you no longer remember name of
Of the stories which left a deep scar in my heart
I would rather explain how beautiful you look to me
In your gray tee
And faded pair of jeans
Trying to play me a tune
And your wrinkled face
As you try to remember the words
Of the song you used to know all by heart.

I would rather soak in the sun,
Drown inside our memories
Of you asking me to runaway with you
To a place faraway
With just 500 in hand.
Of you telling me
That I was too beautiful and you were too old
To be perfect for each other
Of us basking in the sun at Mangalbazar
With its red bricked floor
And getting wet in the rain in Bhaktapur
With its big ponds filled with golden fishes
And sharing a glass of tea in Basantapur
With its narrow lanes where bikes passed in speed.
I would rather look at you
And feel content
Not worrying what would happen next
Not remember the broken hearts
And the hidden scars
I would rather whisper in your ear
And tell you, you’re too beautiful
And I am just good enough for you.

Leave a Reply

