Addiction

I have been addicted to things –
to songs, people, voice
to prayers, love, hymns.
And when once in a while
I feel alone, struggling to be strong
I see,
that I have been addicted to things –
to distraction, chatboxes and messages,
it will be okay, alright and don’t be afraid,
and when once in a while
the only voice you hear
is your own heartbeat,
I realize
I have been addicted to things.

And it’s all a cycle,
you get hurt, you find another,
you get hurt again and you find another again
thus you get addicted.
I have unlearnt to be alone again.
I don’t remember what it feels like
to be what I used to be –
independent and fun,
coz lately I have been addicted to things –
to playlists, book of poetry, one-liners
and one day, I wake up feeling empty
I find out
I have been addicted to things
to words, rhymes and stories
to half-finished sentences,
to being addicted again.

 

One thought on “Addiction

Leave a Reply

