I Make Him Sing to Me.

I make him sing to me every time I miss you
a little more than yesterday.
as I cry, he calms me down
as I stare at the vacuum he wakens me up
He reminds me of you somehow
although he isn’t tall and handsome, I find him cuter
he too makes me feel safe just the way you did.
he too brings a smile in my face every time I feel like shit
he too tries to calm me down every time I’m throbbing with pain.
I wish you had known him,
I am sure you would like him
and be happy that your little girl has found someone who cares about her.
and I wish he had known you,
although he does a little from what I have told and written and spoken and remembered.
You would probably warn him saying I’m a drama-queen
and he would happily reply, “bhacha swange chai du kaa
you would probably say that I’m a cry baby
and he would agree “khwablu na kha kaa
and you would probably mention him
that most of the nights I wake up and
be dangerous, shouting and screaming
because I want to go back to my daddy
and he’d say, “kha baa kha, harhaa na du ka”
but you both would agree
that I might also be the sweetest one in the world
and how you both like the way I smile or laugh
or the way I cuddle and sleep calmly every time I am with you.
Thinking of all these reminds me of you
and make me miss you more
hence I get restless
he then hums my favourite tune to help me settle
for I make him sing to me every time I miss you
a little more than yesterday.
Leave a Reply

