A Year That Was!

I know that usually a year review is done when the year is coming to an end. But I have been reflecting and reviewing it just before my birthday for many years. So here I am, before turning 21, trying to see how my 20th year of life went.

Last year like every year, I was excited about my birthday. Turning 20, leaving teenage years of life seemed very exciting. But just few days before my birthday, my family had to mourn for death of a relative. In Nepal, we have to mourn for 13 days of close relative (13-days DajuBhai) from the community (Guthi). So, I got all sad and angry for not being able to celebrate my day as others do it,  even if I hadn’t been celebrating it for last 2-3 or even more years. I mean a year before that birthday, I called a friend at almost 23:45, to remind him about that it was my day. Also, I had to walk for hours, trying to find a place and then return without any success. Thus, it wasn’t a big deal for not being able to celebrate yet still I felt sad. I mean you don’t get to be 20 every year now do you?

But a friend of mine, called me or rather chatted with me in facebook a day before my birthday to say that he has decided to spend a day with me for my day. I was sad and all cranked up, thus probably complaining about how I could not celebrate my birthday and to cheer me up and make me happy, he decided to be with me whole day. We went to Swoyambhu at first and talked about our lives (we were starting to get close at that time) and incidents. Then, he dropped me at a basketball tournament where my girlfriends had match. After winning the match, all of us went to Patan to have mo:mo and then back to Mangalbazzar because I told them that he would be coming. I witnessed Jaatra of Rato-Machhindranath for the first time in my life. And then we went to have a cup of tea and talk. I felt very special that day. And blessed. But it wasn’t just that day you see. I still got birthday wishes for 1 week past my birthday.

After starting my 20th year feeling all special and blessed, the rest of the year surely was amazing. I visited Bandipur in midst of Nepal bandas and Chakka jaam. Then went hiking with Kaka and Daiharu after returning back. Then I finished my undergraduate studies, started working and started this blog as well. And I tried haikuing. At the same time, I also had chance to meet Sarah Kay as I participated in a slam poetry workshop. I wasn’t planning to do that mainly because although a big Sarah Kay fan (or rather Phil Kaye’s), I always thought slam-poetry wasn’t my thing. But my friend literally forced me to take part, since he couldn’t do so as he was having exams and it was totally worth it. Sarah Kay seriously is amazing. I also did my first slam performance and ruined it by forgetting the line from world-famous song “Tears in Heaven”. Here’s the video if you want to watch how much I screwed up: Suv’s Slam.

I also made new friends while got more close with old ones. I attended a friend’s wedding donning up sari and everything. And I decided to take writing seriously. Kaka told me to be serious about my career and decide what I want to do for rest of my life. Being a social work graduate, I could either choose to be a community worker in any field of my interest or be a writer. I chose the latter one. Writing is something I have always come back to no matter what. Writing is something I would seriously like to take into next level. Writing is something I would love to do whole my life. Eat, sleep and WRITE and Read. That’s my motto. And travel. 🙂 I then got a chance to be a part of a team I am fond of. I have always been a loyal fan of theirs, so when they announced vacancy, I quickly jumped in.

But mostly I made memories. With strangers who became friends. With loved ones who are still loved ones. And with a friend, who turned into a beloved.

Looking back!!

Looking back!!

.

2 thoughts on “A Year That Was!

Leave a Reply

